BOARD OF OPTOMETRY AD HOC COMMITTEE ON SANCTIONS REFERENCE STUDY SEPTEMBER 26, 2007 RICHMOND, VA

TIME AND PLACE:The meeting was called to order at 11:30 a.m. on
Wednesday, September 26, 2007 at the Department of
Health Professions, The Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland
Drive, 2nd Floor, Room 4, Richmond, Virginia.

PRESIDING CHAIRMAN: David H. Hettler, O.D.

MEMBERS PRESENT:Paula H. Boone, O.D.W. Ernest Schlabach, O.D.

STAFF PRESENT:Elizabeth A. Carter, Ph.D., Executive DirectorAmy Marschean, Assistant Attorney General, BoardCounselCarol Stamey, Operations Manager

OTHERS PRESENT: Neal Kauder, VisualResearch, Inc. Kim Langston, VisualResearch, Inc. Bo Keeney, Virginia Optometric Association

QUORUM: With all members of the Committee present, a quorum was established.

PUBLIC COMMENT: No public comment was presented.

DISCUSSION ITEMS:

Review of Sanctioning Reference Points and Interim Report

Mr. Kauder presented a brief overview of the Board's historical sanctioning factors. Much of the recent history has involved the use of Confidential Consent Agreements (CCAs) in lieu of other sanctioning and has related largely continuing education (CE) and professional designation (PD) violations. Mr. Kauder asked for guidance from the Committee on whether Confidential Consent Agreements would be included in the Sanctioning Reference Points worksheet. Mr. Kauder also asked for guidance regarding repeat violations.

The Committee determined that CCAs would not be included on the worksheet. Further, the Committee agreed that repeated continuing education (CE) and professional designation (PD) violations post-CCA's should be included on the worksheet. Mr. Kauder reported that a revised worksheet will be drafted and scored against 81 cases to determine accuracy. The results of the analyses and worksheet will be presented at the next meeting.

Staff was requested to provide a fee schedule for CCA cases resulting in CE and PD violations.

NEW BUSINESS:

No new business was presented.

ADJOURNMENT:

The meeting adjourned at 11:55 a.m.

David H. Hettler, O.D., Chair

Elizabeth A. Carter, Ph.D., Executive Director